July 4th, 2015

FeenCon is on this weekend. Also this weekend: WetzCon.

FeenCon is the annual roleplaying convention in Bad Godesberg, with a renaissance fair in the park, where I always had readings in recent years. It’s a great con. Wetzcon is the official con of the SFCD /, the German Science Fiction Club.

I will not manage to visit either of the Cons this year. On the one hand I feel very, very sorry about this because I always enjoyed going to FeenCon every year. And the WetzCon would certainly be great, too. I like Science Fiction just as much as I like fantasy and actually perceive the entire speculative fiction genre rather as one unity with ever-increasing interstitial subgenres. But I know that at least some of the older gentlemen of the SFCD tend not to agree with me there. Why do I know that? Well, some of the lads are very … explicit about their predilections and pet hates.

Anyway, I will show my face at neither of the Cons this year. The problem is, I just can not be everywhere. From a marketing point of view, it would make sense to go to both. But then I need my weekends for writing. And basically we had planned to be far away on vacation around this time. When that did not work out, it was just too late to rearrange things.

But when I look at the temperatures, I am very glad that I do not have to go anywhere today.

Nevertheless, I’m going to miss my “Con-family”. I hope the con visitors spare a thought for me and drink something cold to my health – even water would do. And I also hope they cover their heads with wide brimmed hats, so they do not get pierced by the sun god!

If I were at FeenCon, I would read “Cinderella” from “True Fairy Tale 2: Eleven classic fairy tale in a new guise“. If I were to read at WetzCon, then it would be one of my science fiction stories of “Bisse – 17 Extraordinary Stories”.

Still, I miss the cons: my friends and colleagues, my readers and listeners. All are far away.
I feel a little torn. But the heat glues everything together again.

Posted in cons | No Comments »

RPC – Role Play Convention

July 3rd, 2015

Of course one should write reports right after an event and not months later. But with my two jobs and quite a few additional obligations this does not always work. I could, of course, quote John Wayne’s “Never apologize, it’s a sign of weakness.” But in fact, I never particularly liked John Wayne, and in any case I find the axiom wrong. Not being able to apologize for when you messed up to me always seems much more to be a sign of weakness. Admitting a fault calls for more strength than not admitting it.

So, I should have written about the RPC in Cologne and the WGT in Leipzig long ago. Sorry to be late. On both events I was present and read from “Schwingen aus Stein” and from “Wahre Märchen 2: Elf klassische Märchen in neuem Gewand”. Both events were a lot of fun.

So here’s a brief report of the RPC – Role Play Convention on. The event is a successful hybrid between trade fair (with dealers’ tables), hobby meeting, role play convention, costumers’ meeting and renaissance fair; and probably a lot more. I was almost a little sorry that I did not show up in costume. With all the wonderful costumes there, I did feel a little mundane and unimaginative between all those splendidly rigged out people.

In fact, the event is also a little like a family reunion. You can hardly walk ten feet without running into old friends. And despite the absolutely hopless organisation by KölnMesse – no stand numbers anywhere – one did eventually find everything after a long search. I know the KölnMesse from my day job. When it comes to industrial fairs, it is generally far better organized. Thankfully, RPC visitors are imaginative and used to quests into the unknown.

There is plenty to do on the RPC. For me, of course, the readings were the most important thing – especially since I had two of them. There was one reading after the other – two entire days of author readings Of course, one could also have listened to one band after the other the whole day, or could have indulged in actual sword practice. My husband drifted off to find the figure painters. He got stuck, and because of this you will find no picture of me reading. So you’ll have to believe me that it was a good reading, although conditions were difficult because of the noise level in the hall. Fortunately, the reading stage was equipped with headsets so we could contribute our share to the din.

What I noticed particularly was the large increase of Steampunk costumers – something that makes me particularly happy because I feel very much at home in this scene. Wonderful costumes! I hope that I’ll get another chance next year to read at the RPC. Of course, the next year’s book will be no Steampunk but will rather belong in the classic fantasy field – although there will be no orcs or dwarfs or elves or dragons, because they are busy in other stories.

Posted in cons | No Comments »

November 9th, 2014

I write. I sing. Write songs. And sometimes – very rarely – I paint. But that is just for relaxation really.
I two weeks’ time I shall read at Dreieich Con. And together with a good friend I shall have a stand at the con. Now, she is the real artist. Jela. I am merely a colour punk. So if you come to Dreieich con and still need some nice little Christmas presents, come to Jela.

Oh, and I shall have my CDs on sale and books (signed) – and for the first time – paintings.

Dreieich Con, 22. – 23 November, Samstag 17:00 – 18:00 Uhr, Stadtbücherei Dreieich, Bürgerhaus Dreieich-Sprendlingen, Fichtestr. 50, 63303 Dreieich.

falterinvert

Posted in cons | No Comments »

Once and future readings

October 1st, 2014

I went to two readings last month. The first one took place at Fark Convention , a wonderfully nerdy event in an old mine near Saarbrücken. I can only recommend it to everyone. There was role playing, a post-apocalyptic camp with impressive homemade end of time cars, much Steampunk, much costuming, a humungous dealers’ area and of course: readings. And it was all for a good cause, too. The event managed to make – and donate over € 20,000 to a children’s hospice. So not just fun, but help for those who need it. What could be better?

robert-klein

I was scheduled for two readings. I read from my novel “Schwingen aus Stein” and also from my “Cinderella” interpretation published in the photopraphic + short story project “Wahre Märchen 2” (True Fairy Tales). I had a nice, interested audience both times.

schwingen-cover

This is unfortunately not always the case. Only two weeks later a reading scored 2:0. Two authors – zero audience. That too can happen to writers sometimes, and one may be miffed about it, but if it turns out that there had been no advertising done for the event, then it can hardly be surprising. If no one knows that will be reading somewhere, no one will show up. Obviously.

The next reading will certainly not lack an audience. It will take place at this year’s BuCon (Frankfurt Book Fair convention). On Book Fair Saturday at 12:00 a.m., you can come and hear me read.

In any case, I strongly recommend this entire event. It’s been going and growing for many years, and it is the meeting point of pretty much all the German fantasy-authors, bloggers, critics, specialist publishers, etc. In the evening, the Deutsche Phantastik Preis (German Speculative Fiction Award – comparable to the Hugo) is awarded to the deserving winners, and you can enjoy an awards ceremony that could not be more unlike the Oscar night. And I mean that with a wink and a smile.

This time I’m not nominated. But I have already been awarded the SERAPH in March. Two awards for the same book would probably be immodest. And, dear me, we can’t allow that.

Posted in cons, readings | No Comments »

Loncon 3

August 29th, 2014

LonCon is over and both memories and souvenirs are good

– met lots of friends
– met interesting new people
– listened to enlightening discussions
– listened to wonderful concerts
– was part of – hopefully – enlightening discussions wonderful concerts
– two new books
– one new hat
and on the down side_
– con crud.

I reviewed the event in “Zauberspiegel. The article is in German.

Posted in cons | No Comments »

LonCon – The World Science Fiction Convention

August 8th, 2014

Next week I shall be at Loncon. That’s the 2014 World Science Fiction Convention, held in London this time. And as the venue is so relatively easy to reach – the last ones were in Texas or Japan or Australia etc. – I very much wanted to be there. I’m looking forward to this immensely and have been quietly bouncing with anticipation for weeks.

Since the World Con is programmed by the input of the writing scene and the active fandom I have several “gigs” or engagements where I will sit not only sit in the audience but will actively contribute to the show. One concert (with Katy, my duo partner), a “Kaffeeklatsch” (which is a friendly meeting between writers and readers who want to get to know a certain writer personally) and three so-called “panels”. The latter are a kind of talk show for a specific topic with three or four guests and a moderator or talk-master.

Here you can see where I am going to be.

Do come!

Posted in cons | No Comments »

Ju Honisch

News

Publications

Guestbook

Social Media

Facebook
Twitter

CMS

 

DPP


Seraph

Juli 4th, 2015

Heute wäre FeenCon . Und zeitgleich auch noch WetzCon. FeenCon ist die alljährliche Rollenspiel-Convention mit Mittelaltermarkt im Park in Bad Godesberg, auf der ich die letzten Jahre immer Lesungen hatte. Es ist eine tolle Con. Wetzcon ist der offizielle Con des SFCD .

Ich werde auf beiden Cons nicht sein. Das tut mir zum einen sehr, sehr leid, denn ich bin ja jedes Jahr immer gerne auf die FeenCon gefahren. Und der WetzCon wäre sicher auch sehr toll. Ich mag ja Science Fiction genauso gern wie Fantasy und sehe tatsächlich das gesamte Phantastik-Genre eher als Einheit mit immer stärker werdenden Schnittmengen unter den Subgenres. Ich weiß aber, dass zumindest die älteren Herren des SFCD das bisweilen nicht so sehen. Warum ich das weiß? Nun, manche der Jungs sind da durchaus sehr … deutlich.

Jedenfalls werde ich dieses Jahr weder auf der einen, noch der anderen Con mein Gesicht herumtragen. Das Problem ist, ich kann einfach nicht überall hin. Marketingtechnisch wäre es natürlich sinnvoll. Aber dann brauche ich ja die Wochenenden auch zum Schreiben. Und im Grunde wollten wir zu diesem Zeitpunkt weit weg im Urlaub sein. Es ist jetzt ein bisschen anders gekommen. Doch wenn ich mir die Temperaturen so anschaue, bin ich ganz froh, dass ich heute nicht irgendwo hin muss.

Trotzdem werde ich meine „Con-Familie“ vermissen. Ich hoffe, die Con-Besucher denken ein bisschen an mich und leeren mindestens ein Kaltgetränk auf mein Wohl – es darf auch Wasser sein. Und ich hoffe außerdem, sie bedecken ihre Häupter mit weiten Hüten, damit sie der Sonnengott nicht ersticht!

Wäre ich auf der FeenCon, dann würde ich „Aschenputtel“ lesen aus „Wahre Märchen 2: Elf klassische Märchen in neuem Gewand“.

Hätte mich der WetzCon zu einer Lesung eingeladen, dann wäre es eine meiner Science Fiction Geschichten aus „Bisse – 17 ungewöhnliche Geschichten“.

Ein bisschen Sehnsucht plagt mich. Meine Freunde und Kollegen, meine Leser und Zuhörer. Alle sind weit weg.
Fühle mich zerrissen. Aber die Hitze klebt dann doch wieder alles zusammen.

Posted in Cons | No Comments »

RPC – Role Play Convention

Juli 3rd, 2015

Natürlich sollte man Berichte zeitnah schreiben. Wenn man, wie ich, zwei Berufe und darüber hinaus noch ein paar zusätzliche Verpflichtungen hat, dann klappt das nicht immer. Ich könnte jetzt John Wayne zitieren mit „Never apologize, it’s a sign of weakness.“ Aber tatsächlich mochte ich John Wayne nie besonders, und den Spruch finde ich außerdem falsch. Sich nicht entschuldigen zu können für etwas, das man versemmelt hat, scheint mir weitaus mehr ein Zeichen von Schwäche zu sein, als wenn man es zugeben kann.

Also: Ich hätte längst über die RPC in Köln und das WGT in Leipzig schreiben sollen. Ich entschuldige mich für die Verspätung. Auf beiden war ich anwesend und habe fleißig gelesen und zwar aus “Schwingen aus Stein” und from “Wahre Märchen 2: Elf klassische Märchen in neuem Gewand” . Beide Veranstaltungen haben sehr viel Spaß gemacht.

Heute also erst mal ein kurzer Bericht über die RPC – Role Play Convention an. Sie ist eine gelungene Verbindung aus Messe mit Händlerständen, Hobby-Treff der Rollenspieler, Gewandungstreffen und Mittelaltermarkt. Und vermutlich noch einiges mehr. Es tat mir fast ein bisschen leid, dass ich so ganz „in Zivil“ dort aufgetaucht bin. Bei all den wunderbaren Kostümen fühlte man sich schon fast etwas phantasielos.

Tatsächlich ist die Veranstaltung aber auch ein bisschen so etwas wie ein Familientreffen. Man kann keine drei Meter laufen, ohne nette, alte Bekannte zu treffen. Und trotz der absolut grottigen Standplatzierungen ohne Standnummern konnte man nach längerem Suchen tatsächlich alles finden. Ich kenne die KölnMesse nur von meinem Brotjob her. Wenn es um Industriemessen geht, ist sie gemeinhin besser organisiert. Gott sei Dank sind RPC Besucher ja phantasiebegabt und Questen ins Unbekannte gewohnt.

Es gibt viel zu tun auf der RPC. Für mich waren natürlich die Lesungen das Wichtigste – zumal ich zwei davon hatte. Den ganzen Tag gab es ein Lese-Programm. Man hätte aber auch den ganzen Tag einer Band nach der anderen zuhören oder sich im Schwertkampf messen können. Mein Mann driftete zu den Figuren-Malern ab. Dort blieb er hängen, weswegen es von meiner Lesung denn auch keine Fotos gibt. Ihr müsst mir also glauben, dass es eine gute Lesung war. Auch nicht einfach, denn so eine Messehalle hat einen recht hübschen Lärmpegel. Erfreulicherweise war die Lesebühne mit Headsets ausgerüstet. Lärm hin, Lärm zurück.

Was aufgefallen ist, ist die große Zunahme von Steampunk – etwas, das mich besonders freut, denn dieser Szene fühle ich mich zugehörig. Wunderbare Kostüme! Ich hoffe sehr, dass es nächstes Jahr wieder eine Möglichkeit gibt, auf der RPC eine Lesung zu machen. Auch wenn das Buch, das nächstes Jahr von mir erscheinen wird, kein Steampunk ist, sondern eher in den klassischen Fantasy-Bereich gehört – wenngleich es auch keine Orks oder Zwerge oder Elfen oder Drachen geben wird, denn die werden an anderen Schauplätzen gebraucht.

MerkenMerken

MerkenMerken

Posted in Cons | No Comments »

November 9th, 2014

Ich schreibe. Ich singe. Ich komponiere Lieder. Und ganz selten male ich auch mal, aber nur so zum Spaß. In zwei Wochen werde ich auf dem Dreieich Con eine Lesung haben. Und mit meiner Freundin zusammen werde ich auch einen Stand dort haben. Die wirkliche Künstlerin ist sie. Jela. Wenn ihr auf dem Dreieich Con sein werdet und noch ein paar sehr nette, kleine Weihnachtsgeschenke braucht, dann kommt zu Jela.

Ach ja. Und von mir wird es auf dem Stand CDs mit eigenen Liedern geben und – Gemaltes. Und natürlich Bücher (signiert, so gewünscht).

Dreieich Con, 22. – 23 November, Samstag 17:00 – 18:00 Uhr, Stadtbücherei Dreieich, Bürgerhaus Dreieich-Sprendlingen, Fichtestr. 50, 63303 Dreieich.

falterinvert

Posted in Cons | No Comments »

Lesungen

Oktober 1st, 2014

Zwei Lesungen gab es im letzten Monat. Die erste fand auf der FaRk statt, einem wunderbar nerdigen Event im Saarland, das ich jedem nur wärmstens empfehlen kann. Hier gab es Rollenspiele, ein Endzeit-Camp mit herrlichen selbstgebastelten Endzeit-Autos, viel Steampunk, viel Gewandung und natürlich Lesungen. Das ganze war auch noch für einen guten Zweck. Die Veranstaltung konnte über 20.000 € an ein Kinderhospiz spenden. Also nicht nur Spaß, sondern auch noch Hilfe. Besser kann es nicht sein.

Ich war gleich mit zwei Lesungen vertreten. Einmal las ich aus „Schwingen aus Stein“ und einmal meine Aschenputtel-Version aus dem Kurzgeschichtenband „Wahre Märchen 2“ . Beide Male hatte ich ein nettes, interessiertes Publikum.
maerchen-cover

Das ist nicht selbstverständlich. Nur zwei Wochen später ging eine Lesung auch mal 2:0 aus. Zwei Autorinnen – null Zuhörer. Auch das passiert Schriftstellern manchmal, und man mag sich darüber ärgern, aber wenn sich herausstellt, dass es keine Werbung für das Event gegeben hatte, dann muss es einen zumindest nicht wundern. Wenn keiner weiß, dass irgendwo eine Lesung stattfindet, kommt eben auch keiner. So ist das mit der Logik.

Die nächste Lesung wird sicher nicht publikumsfrei sein. Sie findet auf dem diesjährigen BuCon statt. Am Buchmesse-Samstag um 12:00 kann man mich dort lesen hören. Es empfiehlt sich überhaupt, diese Veranstaltung nicht zu verpassen. Es gib sie seit vielen Jahren, und sie ist der Treffpunkt so ziemlich aller Phantastik-AutorInnen, Blogger, Kritiker, Spezialverlage u.s.w. Am Abend wird dann der Deutsche Phantastik Preis verliehen, und man kann sich an einer Preisverleihungszeremonie erfreuen, die dem Oskar-Abend nicht unähnlicher sein könnte. Und das meine ich positiv.

Dieses Mal bin ich nicht nominiert. Aber ich habe ja im März schon den SERAPH abgeräumt. Zwei Preise für ein Buch – das wäre vermutlich unanständig. (Unanständig, aber nicht unwillkommen …)

MerkenMerken

Posted in Cons, Lesungen | No Comments »

Loncon 3

August 29th, 2014

Die LonCon ist vorüber und die Ausbeute ist positiv:

– viele Freunde getroffen
– neue Menschen kennengelernt
– interessanten Diskussionen gelauscht
– schöne Konzerte gehört und hoffentlich ein schönes Konzert gegeben
– zwei neue Bücher
– ein neuer Hut
und – weniger schön:
– eine fiese Erkältung

Genaueres erfahrt Ihr im Zauberspiegel, wo ich einen Bericht geschrieben habe.

Posted in Cons | No Comments »

LonCon – The World Science Fiction Convention

August 8th, 2014

Nächste Woche geht es auf die LonCon. Das ist die diesjährige World Science Fiction Convention, die diesmal in London stattfindet. Und wo sie denn schon so verhältnismäßig leicht zu erreichen ist – die letzten waren in Texas oder Japan oder Australien etc. – wollte ich auch hin. Ich freue mich schon wie eine ganze Horde von SchneekönigInnen.

Da die World Con von den Aktiven der Schreibszene und des Fandoms gestaltet wird, habe ich gleich mehrere Termine, bei denen ich nicht nur im Publikum sitze, sondern aktiv bin. Ein Konzert (mit Katy, meiner Duo-Partnerin), ein Kaffeeklatsch (das ist ein freundliches Treffen von Autoren und Lesern, die einen mal persönlich kennenlernen möchten) und drei sogenannte „Panels“. Letztere sind eine Art Talkshow zu jeweils einem bestimmten Thema mit drei oder vier Talk-Gästen und einem Moderator.

Hier kann man sehen, wo ich zu finden bin.

Ich freue mich über jeden, der kommt.

Posted in Cons | No Comments »

Ju Honisch

Neuigkeiten

Publikationen

Gästebuch

Social Media

Facebook
Twitter
Google+

CMS

 

DPP


Seraph